Search site

School of Chemical and Process Engineering

Staff

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W X Y Z . A list of Research students is also available

When telephoning from outside the University, dial: 0113 34 extension

Unless otherwise stated, all offices are located in the Engineering Building

A categorised list is also available

Key contacts

Position Name Email Extension
Head of School Professor Elaine Martin e.martin@leeds.ac.uk 30889
Director of Institute of Materials Research Professor Andrew Mullis a.m.mullis@leeds.ac.uk 32568
Director of Energy Research Institute Professor William Gale w.f.gale@leeds.ac.uk 32796
Director of Student Education Professor Michael Fairweather m.fairweather@leeds.ac.uk 32419
Director of Research Dr James Young j.young@leeds.ac.uk 32349

A

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Ibrahim Abdel Moaty i.salama@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Patricia Abellan Baeza p.abellanbaeza@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr James Addis j.g.addis@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Mr Muzammil Ali m.z.ali@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Mr Antonio Anastasiou a.anastasiou@leeds.ac.uk 38592 Research Fellow
Professor Gordon Andrews g.e.andrews@leeds.ac.uk 32493 Professor
Dr Joseph Antony s.j.antony@leeds.ac.uk 32409 Associate Professor
Miss Caroline Ashava c.o.ashava@leeds.ac.uk 32444 Education Service Officer/Receptionist
Dr Zabeada Aslam z.p.aslam@leeds.ac.uk 32569 Research Officer
Mrs Ulrike Aufderhorst u.aufderhorst@leeds.ac.uk 32420 Research Secretary

Top of page

B

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Hamidreza Bahari Poor Fakoosh h.r.baharipoorfarkoosh@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Lizhan Bai l.bai@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Catherine Bale c.s.e.bale@leeds.ac.uk 38250 Senior Research Fellow
Professor Keith Bartle     Visiting Emeritus Professor
Professor Andrew Bayly a.e.bayly@leeds.ac.uk 30167 Professor
Professor Andrew Bell a.j.bell@leeds.ac.uk 32370 Professor
Mrs Janet Bell j.l.bell@leeds.ac.uk 38891 Research Secretary
Mr Gurdev Bhogal g.s.bhogal@leeds.ac.uk 35869 Technician
Dr Timothy Bigg t.bigg@leeds.ac.uk 32569 Research Assistant
Mr Robert Blissett r.blissett@leeds.ac.uk   KTP Associate (Process Development Engineer)
Dr Antonia Borissova a.borissova@leeds.ac.uk 32421 Teaching Fellow
Dr Richard Bourne r.a.bourne@leeds.ac.uk 36547 Tenure Track Fellow
Mr Christopher Brier c.p.brier@leeds.ac.uk 32487 Senior Experimental Officer
Dr Andrew Brown a.p.brown@leeds.ac.uk 32382 Lecturer
Miss Emily Bryan-Kinns e.bryan-kinns@leeds.ac.uk 36937 Doctoral Training Centre Officer
Professor Richard Brydson r.m.drummond-brydson@leeds.ac.uk 32369 Professor
Dr Alan Burns a.d.burns@leeds.ac.uk 32507 Visiting Senior Lecturer

Top of page

C

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Olivier Cayre o.j.cayre@leeds.ac.uk 34939 Lecturer
Dr Ruth Chantry r.l.chantry@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Mr Jackie Chan j.b.y.chan@leeds.ac.uk   KTP Associate (Fire Design Engineer)
Professor David Charters prefram@ds.leeds.ac.uk   Visiting Professor
Mrs Diane Cochrane d.cochrane@leeds.ac.uk 32363 Lead Technician (IMR)
Dr Robert Cochrane r.f.cochrane@leeds.ac.uk 32359 Senior Lecturer
Professor Timothy Cockerill t.cockerill@leeds.ac.uk 37678 Professor
Dr Giuseppe Colantuono g.colantuono@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Miss Chloe Coles c.e.coles@leeds.ac.uk 30499 Administrative Officer
Dr Stephen Collins mtlsc@leeds.ac.uk 32424 Research Associate
Dr Marco Colombo m.colombo@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Timothy Comyn t.p.comyn@leeds.ac.uk 32540 Senior Research Fellow
Miss Rachel Cox r.cox@leeds.ac.uk 32547 School Education Service Manager
Mr Ernest Cran e.j.cran@leeds.ac.uk 32681 Technician
Dr Rolf Crook r.crook@leeds.ac.uk 37737 Lecturer
Dr Adrian Cunliffe a.m.cunliffe@leeds.ac.uk 32470 Analytical Support Technician
Ms Penny Cunningham p.j.cunningham@leeds.ac.uk 34609 Energy Leeds Innovation Manager

Top of page

D

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Leilani Darvell l.i.darvell@leeds.ac.uk 36143 Research Fellow
Mr Peter Dawson mtlpgd@leeds.ac.uk 32565 Lead Technician (School & IPSE)
Mr Samuel Dent s.r.dent@leeds.ac.uk 30554 Administrative Officer
Ms Petra Desatova p.desatova@leeds.ac.uk 32465 Education Service Officer
Professor Yulong Ding y.ding@leeds.ac.uk 32747 Visiting Professor
Dr Darron Dixon-Hardy d.w.dixon-hardy@leeds.ac.uk 32800 Senior Lecturer
Dr Ben Douglas b.douglas@leeds.ac.uk   Technician
Dr Valerie Dupont v.dupont@leeds.ac.uk 32503 Reader

Top of page

E

Name Email Extension Position
Professor David Edmonds d.v.edmonds@leeds.ac.uk 32386 Visiting Professor
Dr Faye Esat f.esat@leeds.ac.uk 32341 Research Fellow

Top of page

F

Name Email Extension Position
Professor Michael Fairweather m.fairweather@leeds.ac.uk 32419 Professor
Dr Yousef Faraj y.faraj@leeds.ac.uk 32358 Research Fellow
Mrs Lisa Flaherty l.flaherty@leeds.ac.uk 39010 Executive PA to the Energy Technology and Innovation Initiative (ETII)
Dr Yahia Fouda y.fouda@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Robert Fowell r.j.fowell@leeds.ac.uk   Visiting Fellow

Top of page

G

Name Email Extension Position
Professor William Gale w.f.gale@leeds.ac.uk 32796 Professor
Professor Mojtaba Ghadiri m.ghadiri@leeds.ac.uk 32406 Professor
Professor Bernard Gibbs b.m.gibbs@leeds.ac.uk   Visiting Professor
Mrs Marie Gray m.gray@leeds.ac.uk 32426 Research Secretary
Dr Bijal Gudka b.a.gudka@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow

Top of page

H

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Seyed Hadavi s.g.hadavi@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Robert Hammond r.b.hammond@leeds.ac.uk 32428 Lecturer
Professor Bruce Hanson b.c.hanson@leeds.ac.uk 30475 Professor
Dr David Harbottle d.harbottle@leeds.ac.uk 34154 Lecturer
Mr Trevor Hardcastle t.p.hardcastle@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Colin Hare c.l.hare@leeds.ac.uk 32407 Research Fellow
Mr John Harrington j.p.harrington@leeds.ac.uk 32559 Experimental Officer
Professor James Harrison     Visiting Professor
Mr Robert Harris r.i.harris@leeds.ac.uk 32681 Technician
Dr Ali Hassanpour a.hassanpour@leeds.ac.uk 32405 Associate Professor
Mr David Haynes d.i.haynes@leeds.ac.uk 37907 Research Secretary/PA to the Energy Research Institute (ERI)
Dr Raphael Heffron r.j.heffron@leeds.ac.uk 37441 Lecturer in Law
Professor Peter Heggs p.j.heggs@leeds.ac.uk 32386 Visiting Research Professor
Mr Leonard Henrichs l.f.henrichs@leeds.ac.uk 32362 Marie Curie Research Fellow
Professor Andrew Heyes a.heyes@leeds.ac.uk 35857 Professor of Energy Technology and Environment
Dr Nicole Hondow n.hondow@leeds.ac.uk 32056 University Academic Fellow
Professor Brian Hoyle b.s.hoyle@leeds.ac.uk 32386 Professor of Electronic Sensors and Instrumentation
Cllr Clive Hudson c.hudson@leeds.ac.uk 32783 Senior Teaching Fellow
Dr Kevin Hughes k.j.hughes@leeds.ac.uk 32481 Visiting Scientist
Dr Timothy Hunter t.n.hunter@leeds.ac.uk 32790 Lecturer

Top of page

I

Name Email Extension Position
Professor Derek Ingham d.b.ingham@leeds.ac.uk 35113 Visiting Professor
Mr David Instrell d.s.instrell@leeds.ac.uk 35869 Technician
Dr Mohammed Ismail m.s.ismail@leeds.ac.uk 36464 Visiting Scientist

Top of page

J

Name Email Extension Position
Miss Lucy Jackson l.e.jackson@leeds.ac.uk 32444 Receptionist/Education Service Officer
Mr Mohammed Javed m.javed@leeds.ac.uk 32396 Technician (Research)
Professor Artur Jaworski a.j.jaworski@leeds.ac.uk 34871 Chair in Energy Technology and Environment
Professor Animesh Jha a.jha@leeds.ac.uk 32342 Professor of Applied Materials Science
Dr Xiaodong Jia x.jia@leeds.ac.uk 32801 Senior Research Fellow
Professor Jenny Jones j.m.jones@leeds.ac.uk 32477 Professor
Professor Gin Jose g.jose@leeds.ac.uk 32536 Chair in Functional Materials
Mrs Kirnpal Jutlla k.k.jutlla@leeds.ac.uk 32404 Research Secretary

Top of page

K

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Girish Kale g.m.kale@leeds.ac.uk 32805 Reader in Solid State Ionics
Mr Bishal Karki b.karki@leeds.ac.uk   Research Assistant
Dr Dimitrios Kontziampasis d.kontziampasis@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Eric Kumi Barimah e.kumi-barimah@leeds.ac.uk   Experimental Officer
Dr Nijesh Kunnamkuzhakkal James n.k.james@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow

Top of page

L

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Xiaojun Lai x.lai@leeds.ac.uk 32439 Lecturer
Mr Mathieu Lasfargues m.lasfargues@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Mrs Sue Lazenby s.j.lazenby@leeds.ac.uk 32508 School Administration Manager
Dr Amanda Lea-Langton a.r.lea-langton@leeds.ac.uk 39010 Research Fellow
Dr Hu Li fuehli@leeds.ac.uk 37754 RCUK Academic Fellow
Mr Simon Lloyd s.r.lloyd@leeds.ac.uk 32681 Technician

Top of page

M

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Faiz Mahdi f.m.mahdi@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Mahyar Mahmoodilari m.mahmoodilari@leeds.ac.uk 36464 Visiting Scientist
Dr Tariq Mahmud t.mahmud@leeds.ac.uk 32431 Associate Professor
Dr Soyeb Manga m.s.manga@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Xiaoan Mao x.mao@leeds.ac.uk 34807 Lecturer in Innovative Energy Technologies
Professor Elaine Martin e.martin@leeds.ac.uk 30889 Head of School
Dr Cai Ma c.y.ma@leeds.ac.uk 32401 Senior Research Fellow
Dr Lin Ma l.ma@leeds.ac.uk 38954 Visiting Researcher
Miss Claire McConnell c.l.mcconnell@leeds.ac.uk 32380 Senior Education Service Officer
Professor Andrew McIntosh a.c.mcintosh@leeds.ac.uk   Visiting Professor
Professor Alison McKay a.mckay@leeds.ac.uk 32217 Professor of Design Systems
Mr James McKay j.mckay@leeds.ac.uk 32556 Doctoral Training Centre Manager
Mr Stuart Micklethwaite s.l.micklethwaite@leeds.ac.uk 32559 Technician
Dr Steven Milne s.j.milne@leeds.ac.uk 32539 Reader
Mr Youssoufa Mohamadou     Knowledge Transfer Officer
Miss Katie Moore k.l.moore@leeds.ac.uk 36542 Education Service Officer
Miss Lindsay Morris l.morris@leeds.ac.uk 32694 Education Service Officer
Professor Frans Muller f.l.muller@leeds.ac.uk 32933 Professor
Professor Andrew Mullis a.m.mullis@leeds.ac.uk 32568 Director of Institute of Materials Research
Dr Matthew Murray m.j.murray@leeds.ac.uk 38592 Research Fellow and CTO of Ultramatis (University spin-out)

Top of page

N

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Mohamad Nahil m.a.nahil@leeds.ac.uk 32353 Research Fellow
Dr Bao Nguyen b.nguyen@leeds.ac.uk 30109 Tenure Track Fellow
Dr William Nimmo w.nimmo@leeds.ac.uk 32513 Visiting Scientist
Dr Derrick Njobuenwu d.o.njobuenwu@leeds.ac.uk 32351 Research Fellow

Top of page

O

Name Email Extension Position
Dr George Okeke g.o.u.okeke@leeds.ac.uk 32357 Research Fellow
Dr Jude Onwudili j.a.onwudili@leeds.ac.uk 32353 Research Fellow
Miss Sian Owen s.owen@leeds.ac.uk 32411 School Administration Officer

Top of page

P

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Jan Palczewski j.palczewski@leeds.ac.uk 35180 Lecturer in Financial Mathematics
Mrs Susanne Patel k.s.patel@leeds.ac.uk 32378 Lead Technician
Dr Herodotos Phylaktou h.n.phylaktou@leeds.ac.uk 32505 Senior Lecturer
Dr Jonathan Pickering j.h.pickering@leeds.ac.uk 35836 Research Fellow
Dr Jiri Polansky j.polansky@leeds.ac.uk 32358 EMRP Research Associate Professor
Miss Angela Pollock a.pollock@leeds.ac.uk 32343 Education Service Officer
Dr Colin Poole c.poole@leeds.ac.uk 32798 Senior Lecturer
Professor Mohamed Pourkashanian m.pourkashanian@leeds.ac.uk 32512 Visiting Professor

Top of page

R

Name Email Extension Position
Professor Ganapathy Ramachandran     Visiting Professor
Dr Vasuki Ramachandran v.ramachandran@leeds.ac.uk 31687 Research Fellow
Professor Brian Rand b.rand@leeds.ac.uk 32536 Visiting Professor
Dr Ghulam Raza g.raza@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Hugh Rice h.p.rice@leeds.ac.uk 32351 Research Fellow
Dr Billy Richards b.d.o.richards@leeds.ac.uk 32567 Research Fellow
Mr Peter Riley p.r.riley@leeds.ac.uk 32793 Course Tutor
Professor Kevin Roberts k.j.roberts@leeds.ac.uk 32408 Brotherton Professor of Chemical Engineering
Dr Andrew Ross a.b.ross@leeds.ac.uk 31017 Lecturer
Dr Adam Royles a.j.royles@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow

Top of page

S

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Sergio Sanchez Segado s.sanchezsegado@leeds.ac.uk 38592 Marie Curie IEF Fellow
Professor Sven Schroeder s.l.m.schroeder@leeds.ac.uk 32401 Royal Academy of Engineering Bragg Centenary Chair
Dr Andrew Scott a.j.scott@leeds.ac.uk 32573 Senior Lecturer
Dr Ava Shahrokhi a.shahrokhi@leeds.ac.uk 36464 Research Fellow
Mr Robert Simpson r.j.simpson@leeds.ac.uk 32362 Research Technician
Mr Neil Smith n.w.smith@leeds.ac.uk 32681 Technician
Dr Jennifer Spear j.spear@leeds.ac.uk 30523 Energy Leeds Project Officer
Dr John Staggs j.e.j.staggs@leeds.ac.uk 32495 Senior Lecturer
Dr John Stanford j.stanford@leeds.ac.uk 32402 Business Development Manager, High Values Chemicals Manufacturing
Mr Jonathan Stephenson j.h.stephenson@leeds.ac.uk 35533 Technician
Dr Timothy Stevenson t.j.stevenson@leeds.ac.uk 32540 Research Fellow
Dr Janos Szuhanszki     Visiting Scientist

Top of page

T

Name Email Extension Position
Mrs Katie Tapply k.l.tapply@leeds.ac.uk 32348 Clerical Assistant
Dr Alison Tasker a.l.tasker@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Professor Peter Taylor p.g.taylor@leeds.ac.uk 37169 Professor
Professor Alison Tomlin a.s.tomlin@leeds.ac.uk 32500 Professor
Dr Dimitrios Toroz d.toroz@leeds.ac.uk 32401 Research Fellow
Ms Jill Tushingham j.tushingham@leeds.ac.uk 32446 Flight Training Manager

Top of page

U

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Paul Upham p.upham@leeds.ac.uk 37733 URF Academic Fellow

Top of page

W

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Zia Wadud z.wadud@leeds.ac.uk 37733 URF Academic Fellow
Dr Mark Walker m.walker@leeds.ac.uk 36464 Visiting Scientist
Professor Mi Wang m.wang@leeds.ac.uk 32435 Professor of Process Tomography and Sensing
Professor Xue Wang x.z.wang@leeds.ac.uk 32427 Professor
Miss Abigail Ward a.m.e.ward@leeds.ac.uk   Technology Manager
Dr Michael Ward m.b.ward@leeds.ac.uk 32559 Research Officer
Dr Andrew Watson a.watson@leeds.ac.uk 32573 Visiting Senior Research Fellow
Professor Dongsheng Wen d.wen@leeds.ac.uk 31299 Chair in Petroleum Engineering
Dr Aidan Westwood a.v.k.westwood@leeds.ac.uk 32555 Lecturer
Professor Terence Wilkins t.a.wilkins@leeds.ac.uk 32570 Professor
Professor Alan Williams a.williams@leeds.ac.uk 32507 Research Professor
Professor Paul Williams p.t.williams@leeds.ac.uk 32504 Professor
Professor Richard Williams r.a.williams@leeds.ac.uk 32789 Visiting Professor
Mr Edmund Woodhouse e.woodhouse@leeds.ac.uk 32387 Lead Technician to the Energy Research Institute (ERI)
Mrs Ann Wood a.r.wood@leeds.ac.uk 32355 Education Service Assistant
Dr Stephen Wright s.j.wright@leeds.ac.uk 31598 Lecturer
Dr Chunfei Wu c.wu@leeds.ac.uk   Visiting Lecturer

Top of page

X

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Bao Hua Xu b.h.xu@leeds.ac.uk 32423 Lecturer

Top of page

Y

Name Email Extension Position
Professor David York d.w.york@leeds.ac.uk 33238 Professor
Dr James Young j.young@leeds.ac.uk 32349 Director of Research and Technology Manager

Top of page

Z

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Huagui Zhang prehz@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow