Search site

School of Mechanical Engineering

Staff

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V W Z . A list of Research students is also available

When telephoning from outside the University, dial: 0113 34 extension

Unless otherwise stated, all offices are located in the School of Mechanical Engineering

A categorised list is also available

Key contacts

Position Name Email Extension
Deputy Head of School Professor Anne Neville a.neville@leeds.ac.uk 36812
Head of School Professor David Barton d.c.barton@leeds.ac.uk 32137
Director of Research Professor Harvey Thompson h.m.thompson@leeds.ac.uk 32136
Director of Student Education Dr Osvaldo M. Querin o.m.querin@leeds.ac.uk 32218

A

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Abdellatif Abdelgaied a.abdelgaied@leeds.ac.uk 39089 Research Fellow
Mr Erfan Abedi Esfahani e.abediesfahani@leeds.ac.uk 32107 Research Fellow
Dr Alireza Abouhossein a.abouhossein@leeds.ac.uk 32200 Research Fellow
Dr Mazen Al-Hajjar m.al-hajjar@leeds.ac.uk 39401 Senior Research Fellow
Dr Ali Alazmani a.alazmani@leeds.ac.uk 32178 Research Assistant
Dr Andrew Aldridge a.r.aldridge03@leeds.ac.uk 35668 Research Fellow
Dr Murat Ali m.e.ali@leeds.ac.uk 38955 Research Fellow
Dr Mohammed Awad m.i.awad@leeds.ac.uk 32200 Research Fellow
Mr Abdullah Azam a.azam@leeds.ac.uk 32107 Research Fellow (Elec/Mech Eng)

Top of page

B

Name Email Extension Position
Mrs Debra Baldwin d.a.baldwin@leeds.ac.uk 32154 Administrative Support Officer - iMBE
Mr Paul Banks p.banks@leeds.ac.uk 32185 Technician
Dr Richard Barker r.j.barker@leeds.ac.uk 32206 Teaching and Research Fellow
Mrs Sue Barras s.barras@leeds.ac.uk 32116 Education Service Officer
Professor David Barton d.c.barton@leeds.ac.uk 32137 Professor of Solid Mechanics
Mr Mark Batchelor m.c.batchelor@leeds.ac.uk 32185 Technician
Mr Andrew Beadling a.r.beadling@leeds.ac.uk 32198 Research Assistant
Miss Ashley Bell a.m.bell@leeds.ac.uk 32198 Research Fellow
Dr Jordan Boyle j.h.boyle@leeds.ac.uk 32140 Lecturer in Engineering Systems
Professor Derek Bradley d.bradley@leeds.ac.uk 32115 Research Professor
Mr Alan Brickwood a.l.brickwood@leeds.ac.uk 32224 Technician
Mrs Kelly Broadbent k.l.broadbent@leeds.ac.uk 38194 Project Administrator – MeDe Innovation
Dr Claire Brockett c.l.brockett@leeds.ac.uk 37472 NIHR LMBRU Ankle Research Fellow
Dr Peter Brooks p.c.brooks@leeds.ac.uk 32122 Senior Lecturer
Ms Lara Brotherhood l.h.brotherhood@leeds.ac.uk 38194 Project Officer - MeDe Innovation
Dr Michael Bryant m.g.bryant@leeds.ac.uk 32161 Lecturer
Dr Alexy Burluka a.a.burluka@leeds.ac.uk 32220 Senior Lecturer
Mrs Michelle Byrne m.byrne@leeds.ac.uk 32113 Secretary

Top of page

C

Name Email Extension Position
Mr Neil Calligaro n.r.calligaro@leeds.ac.uk 33765 Fabric & Estates Technician
Mrs Jane Cardie j.e.cardie@leeds.ac.uk 32171 Technician
Ms Amanda Carroll a.c.carroll@leeds.ac.uk   Project Support Officer - LifeLongJoints
Mrs Caroline Carr c.j.carr@leeds.ac.uk 30933 Medical Technologies Project Assistant
Mr Ron Cellier r.cellier@leeds.ac.uk 32196 Technician
Mr James Chandler j.h.chandler@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Thibaut Charpentier t.charpentier@leeds.ac.uk 32198 Research Fellow
Dr Hau Hing Chau h.h.chau@leeds.ac.uk 32111 Teaching Fellow
Professor Thomas Childs t.h.c.childs@leeds.ac.uk 32145 Emeritus Professor
Dr Richard Chittenden r.j.chittenden@leeds.ac.uk 32176 Teaching Fellow
Professor Timothy Cockerill t.cockerill@leeds.ac.uk 37678 Professor
Dr John Coney j.e.r.coney@leeds.ac.uk 32124 Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Raelene Cowie r.cowie@leeds.ac.uk 39112 Research Fellow
Dr Peter Culmer p.r.culmer@leeds.ac.uk 32141 EPSRC/RAE Advanced Research Fellow

Top of page

D

Name Email Extension Position
Professor Francisco Da Costa     Honorary Visiting Professor
Professor Alan de Pennington a.depennington@leeds.ac.uk 32145 Emeritus Professor
Dr Abbas Dehghani a.a.dehghani-sanij@leeds.ac.uk 32906 Senior Lecturer
Mrs Amisha Desai a.desai@leeds.ac.uk 39238 Graduate Engineer
Dr Josephine Dixon-Hardy j.e.dixon-hardy@leeds.ac.uk 30920 Acting Director of Medical Technologies Innovation
Mr Abdel Dorgham a.dorgham@leeds.ac.uk 32107 Research Fellow
Professor Duncan Dowson d.dowson@leeds.ac.uk 32153 Research/Emeritus Professor
Mr Gerard Duff g.duff@leeds.ac.uk 37772 Teaching and Research Assistant
Mr Scott Dunkley s.d.dunkley@leeds.ac.uk 32215 Research Fellow
Mr Keith Dyer k.dyer@leeds.ac.uk 39133 Technician

Top of page

E

Name Email Extension Position
Mr Adrian Eagles a.m.eagles@leeds.ac.uk 32190 Technician
Dr Jennifer Edwards J.H.Edwards@leeds.ac.uk 35617 Research Fellow
Ms Noemy Ellis Martin n.ellismartin@leeds.ac.uk 32228 School Education Service Manager
Dr Cayetano Espejo Conesa c.espejoconesa@leeds.ac.uk 32107 Research Fellow

Top of page

F

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Hazel Fermor h.l.fermor@leeds.ac.uk 35651 Research Fellow
Professor John Fisher CBE j.fisher@leeds.ac.uk 32128 Director Institute of Medical & Biological Engineering, Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Top of page

G

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Justin Gallagher j.f.gallagher@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Philippa Garner p.e.garner@leeds.ac.uk 33004 Neuroscience Teaching Fellow
Miss Abby Gaya a.gaya@leeds.ac.uk 39531 Education Service Officer
Mr Mohammad Ghaleeh m.ghaleeh@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Mr Ali Ghanbarzadeh a.ghanbarzadeh@leeds.ac.uk 32179 Research Fellow
Mr Rory Gibney r.gibney@leeds.ac.uk 32200 Research Fellow
Professor Jeremy Gilbert j.gilbert@leeds.ac.uk 30234 Honorary Visiting Professor & Cheney Fellow
Dr Carl Gilkeson c.a.gilkeson@leeds.ac.uk 36915 Teaching and Research Fellow
Miss Rowan Grant r.h.grant@leeds.ac.uk 30923 National Outreach Manager - MeDe Innovation – The EPSRC Centre for Innovative Manufacturing in Medical Devices
Miss Dawn Groves d.groves@leeds.ac.uk 38247 Research Assistant
Mr Robert Guest r.guest@leeds.ac.uk 32184 Stores Technician

Top of page

H

Name Email Extension Position
Professor Richard Hall r.m.hall@leeds.ac.uk 32132 Professor of Spinal Biomechanics
Miss Camille Hammersley c.hammersley@leeds.ac.uk 39133 Technician
Mrs Dawn Harding d.e.harding@leeds.ac.uk 32229 Education Service Officer
Ms Cheryl Harris c.a.harris@leeds.ac.uk 37979 Centre Manager CDTTERM, CDTMBE & DTCTERM/Public Engagement Coordinator
Mr Peter Hayward p.a.hayward@leeds.ac.uk 32105 Teaching Fellow
Dr Brian Henson b.henson@leeds.ac.uk 32135 Senior Lecturer
Dr Anthony Herbert a.herbert@leeds.ac.uk 37371 Research Fellow
Dr Raymond Holt r.j.holt@leeds.ac.uk 37936 Lecturer
Mr Irvin Homan i.homan@leeds.ac.uk 32171 Technician
Professor Shervanthi Homer-Vanniasinkam     Visiting Professor
Dr Graeme Howling g.howling@leeds.ac.uk 30908 Medical Technologies Innovation Manager
Dr Xijin Hua x.hua@leeds.ac.uk 38904 Research Fellow
Mr Yong Hua mnyh@leeds.ac.uk 32219 Research Fellow
Mr Michael Huggan m.huggan@leeds.ac.uk 32196 Technician

Top of page

I

Name Email Extension Position
Mr Abbas Ismail a.ismail@leeds.ac.uk 32174 Technician

Top of page

J

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Andrew Jackson a.e.jackson@leeds.ac.uk 32121 Teaching and Research Fellow
Dr Louise Jennings l.m.jennings@leeds.ac.uk 32100 Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor Zhongmin Jin z.jin@leeds.ac.uk 37471 Professor of Computational Bioengineering
Mrs Jenny Johnson j.e.johnson@leeds.ac.uk 32127 Education Service Officer
Mr Adam Johns a.johns@leeds.ac.uk   Knowledge Transfer Officer
Dr Alison Jones a.c.jones@leeds.ac.uk 32099 Lecturer in Computational Biomechanics
Mrs Sarah Jopson s.j.jopson@leeds.ac.uk 32061 Project Manager AMEDEO

Top of page

K

Name Email Extension Position
Professor Nik Kapur n.kapur@leeds.ac.uk 32152 Professor of Applied Fluid Mechanics
Miss Doris Khaemba d.n.khaemba@leeds.ac.uk 32179 Research Fellow
Mr Vishal Khetan v.khetan@leeds.ac.uk 32200 Research Fellow
Dr Jongrae Kim menjkim@leeds.ac.uk 32159 Associate Professor
Mrs Fiona Kingscott f.kingscott@leeds.ac.uk 30907 IP and Contracts Manager for Medical Technologies
Mrs Sarah King s.king@leeds.ac.uk 31397 IMPRESS Project Manager
Dr Shahriar Kosarieh s.kosarieh@leeds.ac.uk 32201 Post Doctoral Research Fellow

Top of page

L

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Saurabh Lal s.lal@leeds.ac.uk 35665 Research Fellow
Mr Joseph Lanigan j.l.lanigan@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Malcolm Lawes m.lawes@leeds.ac.uk 32108 Senior Lecturer
Mr Brian Leach b.leach@leeds.ac.uk 32185 Technician
Professor Martin Levesley m.c.levesley@leeds.ac.uk 32110 Pro Dean - Student Education
Dr Tomasz Liskiewicz t.liskiewicz@leeds.ac.uk 38964 Associate Professor
Dr Aiqin Liu a.liu@leeds.ac.uk 39436 Research Fellow

Top of page

M

Name Email Extension Position
Ms Alice Mackay a.l.c.mackay@leeds.ac.uk 32126 PA
Professor Alison McKay a.mckay@leeds.ac.uk 32217 Professor of Design Systems
Mrs Katie McLaughlin c.mclaughlin@leeds.ac.uk 33913 Secretary
Dr Marlene Mengoni m.mengoni@leeds.ac.uk 35011 Research Fellow
Dr Qingen Meng q.meng@leeds.ac.uk 38893 Research Fellow
Dr Danielle Miles d.e.miles@leeds.ac.uk 34992 Research Fellow
Mr Rhys Moore r.a.moore@leeds.ac.uk 32171 Technician
Mr Andrew Moor a.r.moor@leeds.ac.uk 36360 Research Assistant
Professor Ardian Morina a.morina@leeds.ac.uk 38965 Professor of Engineering Tribology
Miss Lisa-Dionne Morris l.d.morris@leeds.ac.uk 36665 Teaching Fellow
Dr Blessing Mukonweshuro B.Mukonoweshuro@leeds.ac.uk 35651 Research Fellow
Mr Stephen Murgatroyd s.h.murgatroyd@leeds.ac.uk 32173 Technician

Top of page

N

Name Email Extension Position
Professor Anne Neville a.neville@leeds.ac.uk 36812 RAEng Chair in Emerging Technologies & Deputy Head of School
Mr Rai Notay r.notay@leeds.ac.uk   Research Officer

Top of page

O

Name Email Extension Position
Mr Andrew O'Brien a.o'brien@leeds.ac.uk 32196 Technician
Mr MacDonald Ofune m.a.ofune@leeds.ac.uk 32179 Research Fellow

Top of page

P

Name Email Extension Position
Ms Kate Page k.page@leeds.ac.uk 32118 Development Officer - Flexible Learning
Mr Pourya Parsaeian p.parsaeian@leeds.ac.uk 32107 Research Fellow
Miss Susan Partridge s.partridge@leeds.ac.uk 39210 Research Assistant
Miss Jo-Anne Patton j.patton@leeds.ac.uk 38914 PA/Secretary iMBE
Mr Frederick Pessu f.o.pessu@leeds.ac.uk 32179 Research Fellow
Mr Andrew Pickering a.d.pickering@leeds.ac.uk 32131 Technician
Mr Julien Pohl j.pohl@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow

Top of page

Q

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Osvaldo M. Querin o.m.querin@leeds.ac.uk 32218 Associate Professor

Top of page

R

Name Email Extension Position
Mr Nicholas Raske n.raske@leeds.ac.uk 32201 Research Fellow
Dr Michael Raxworthy m.j.raxworthy@leeds.ac.uk 38775 Operations Director - Regener8
Mr David Readman d.readman@leeds.ac.uk 32131 Technician
Dr Robert Richardson r.c.richardson@leeds.ac.uk 32156 Senior Lecturer

Top of page

S

Name Email Extension Position
Mr Mohammad Sanami m.sanami@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Dr Andrew Shires a.shires@leeds.ac.uk 35457 Associate Professor
Dr Sebastien Sikora s.n.f.sikora@leeds.ac.uk 39162 Research Fellow
Mrs Fiona Slade f.r.slade@leeds.ac.uk 32202 PA/Secretary
Mr Siavash Soltanahmadi s.soltanahmadi@leeds.ac.uk 32107 Research Fellow
Dr Martin Stanley m.j.stanley@leeds.ac.uk 32123 Research Fellow
Dr Todd Stewart t.d.stewart@leeds.ac.uk 32133 Senior Lecturer in Medical Engineering
Dr Jonathan Summers j.l.summers@leeds.ac.uk 32151 Senior Lecturer

Top of page

T

Name Email Extension Position
Dr Briony Thomas b.g.thomas@leeds.ac.uk 39694 Lecturer
Mr Jordan Thomas j.thomas@leeds.ac.uk 32120 Technician
Professor Harvey Thompson h.m.thompson@leeds.ac.uk 32136 Professor of Computational Fluid Dynamics
Ms Julie Thrush j.thrush@leeds.ac.uk 37046 Education Service Officer
Mrs Jane Tillotson j.tillotson@leeds.ac.uk 32186 Receptionist
Professor Joanne Tipper j.l.tipper@leeds.ac.uk 33385 Professor of Medical & Biological Engineering
Mr Darren Trowsdale d.b.trowsdale@leeds.ac.uk 38120 Teaching Fellow

Top of page

V

Name Email Extension Position
Miss Ksenija Vasiljeva k.vasiljeva@leeds.ac.uk 38915 Graduate Bioengineer

Top of page

W

Name Email Extension Position
Miss Carol Walder c.a.walder@leeds.ac.uk 36494 School Administrator
Dr Chun Wang c.wang@leeds.ac.uk 32198 Research Fellow
Dr Hongbo Wang h.wang1@leeds.ac.uk   Research Fellow
Mr Lee Wetherill l.wetherill@leeds.ac.uk 32171 Technician
Mr Antony Wiese a.m.wiese@leeds.ac.uk 32187 Technician
Dr Nagitha Wijayathunga v.n.wijayathunga@leeds.ac.uk 32125 Research Fellow
Mrs Jane Wilcox j.wilcox@leeds.ac.uk 30929 Information and Communications Officer - WELMEC
Professor Ruth Wilcox r.k.wilcox@leeds.ac.uk 37980 Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Dr Ceri Williams c.j.r.williams@leeds.ac.uk 30922 Director of Operations - IKC RTD & Deputy Director - Innovative Manufacturing in Medical Devices
Dr Sophie Williams s.d.williams@leeds.ac.uk 32214 Associate Professor in Medical Engineering
Dr Mark Wilson m.wilson@leeds.ac.uk 32177 Lecturer
Mr Phillip Wood p.m.wood@leeds.ac.uk 32188 iMBE Laboratory Manager in Mechanical Engineering

Top of page

Z

Name Email Extension Position
Dr John Zhao h.zhao@leeds.ac.uk 32208 Research Fellow