Search site

School of Mechanical Engineering


Uniting the women of science and engineering

Three University of Leeds academics have been honoured with a Medical Research Council (MRC) Suffrage Award.

Professor Anne Neville (School of Mechanical Engineering), Professor Ruth Wilcox (Institute of Medical & Biological Engineering) and Dr Lorna Dougan (School of Physics and Astronomy) have all been selected by current MRC Suffrage Award holders as outstanding researchers in science and engineering.

As part of the award, the winners receive jewellery, either a brooch or pendant, which is passed down from one generation of leading female scientists to the next.

The heirlooms were hand-crafted and designed by Central Saint Martins college of art and design, and is inspired by the jewellery

Read more

Professor Neville was nominated for the Award by Dame Julia Higgins, Professor of Polymer Science at Imperial College.


More news stories